The History of The Province of Moray. Comprising the Counties of Elgin and Nairn, the greater part of the County of Inverness, and a portion of the County of Banff, – all called the Province of Moray before there was a division into Counties. New Edition – in Three Volumes. Enlarged and brought down to the Present Time By J. F. S. Gordon.

  • Shaw, Lachlan
  • Glasgow: Printed at the University Press 1882


SKU: 5687 Category: Tag:


3 vols., 8vo, pp. xvi, 408; vi, [ii], 424; viii, 479, [1] + frontispiece to vol. 1. Partially-unopened in original quarter purple roan, blue cloth boards, spines lettered direct in gilt, top edges gilt. Some spotting to textblock edges. A little wear to spine-ends.


A deluxe binding variant of the much-expanded 1882 new edition of Rev. Lachlan Shaw's (1692-1777) local history, first published in a single volume in 1775. It was also issued in brown or green cloth.

Location & Opening Times

3a & 4a Haddington Place, Edinburgh, EH7 4AE

Opening Hours

Open seven days a week, 11am - 5pm

On Thursdays late night opening until 8pm