Works. Sense and Sensibility with Lady Susan and The Watsons; Pride and Prejudice; Mansfield Park; Emma; Northanger Abbey; Persuasion.

  • Austen, Jane
  • London: MacDonald & Co. 1951
  • Gilson E263, E261, E283, E285, E325, E327.


SKU: 6267 Category: Tags: ,


6 vols., 8vo, pp. xxvii, [i], 529, [3, ads]; vii, [i], 416; xxi, [i], 455, [3, ads]; 479, [1, ads]; xxxiii, [i], 266, [4, ads]; xxi, [i], 292, [4, ads] + frontispiece to each volume and 37 further plates, all in colour. Original red leatherette, spines lettered in gilt, top edges red, clear plastic dustjackets lettered in yellow and blue. A little light spotting. A touch rubbed to extremities, lacking one dustjacket, other jackets a little soiled.


A complete set of the works of Jane Austen, issued over several years as part of the publisher's larger 'MacDonald Illustrated Classics' series. Emma was first, in 1948, followed by Pride and Prejudice in 1951, Mansfield Park in 1957, Sense and Sensibility in 1958, and Northanger Abbey and Persuasion rounding out the set in 1961. In this example Emma is a 1954 3rd printing and all the others are firsts, each uniformly-bound and illustrated with watercolours by Philip Gough.

Location & Opening Times

3a & 4a Haddington Place, Edinburgh, EH7 4AE

Opening Hours

Open seven days a week, 11am - 5pm

On Thursdays late night opening until 8pm